Jo Sung Mo – Meet Brave (album review)


Jo Sung Mo was already one of my favourite Korean singers but after watching his live performance of I Want To Cheat On You on Music Bank I was blown away mostly by his dandy look, but also by his sincerity. Tell a girl she’s not the only one then be ready for the violent consequences. Do it through a rock song, wrap it in pure manly attitude and give her this gesture, then still prepare for some violence, but in the intimacy of your bedroom.
I Want To… is greatest when performed live. I love the manipulation of the vocals and the heavy use of electric guitars.


The Evening Passes counterbalances perfectly the aggressiveness of the first track. I am actually so infatuated with the sexyness in his voice that I’m more than willing to get past the fact that the songs don’t really impress me and give the mini album a good listen. I smoothly get pass Increasingly and get to my favourite track ( besides I Want To ), Why Do We. It may not sound so great the first time you hear but do me a favour and put it on repeat for a few times. You will know what I mean.

U&Me, the last track, is a electronic dance track  that comes as a perfect ending to a mini album which, to put it in a nutshell : feels like a soft breeze. ( Mona, you reap poetic talent ! ) Really now, it’s his voice that’s so different I get very confused. Do I like the songs because he’s the singer or I only enjoy them because of his voice ? Does it really matter if it’s one way or the other ? I think not.
Final rating : 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

